Friday, December 12, 2008

Nobel Prizes 2008

Nobel Prizes are awarded for outstanding achievements in the fields of physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for peace. An additional Prize for Economics is awarded in the same ceremony, which is held every year on the anniversary of Alfred Nobel’s death. King Carl XVI Gustaf traditionally presents the award to each honoree.

The Nobel Peace Prize alone is awarded in Oslo, Norway in the presence of the King of Norway. The ceremony in Norway was held on the same day, December 10, 2008 in Oslo.

The winners of this year’s Nobel Prizes are:

• For Physiology or Medicine: Francoise Barre-Sinoussi, Luc Montagnier and Harald zur Hausen
• For Physics: Makoto Kobayashi, Toshihide Maskawa and Yoichiro Nambu
• For Chemistry: Osamu Shimomura, Martin Chalfie and Roger Tsien
• For Literature: Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clezio
• For Peace: Former Finnish President Martti Ahtisaari
• For Economics: Paul Krugman

Queen Silvia, Princess Madeleine, King Carl XVI Gustaf, Prince Carl Philip and Crown Princess Victoria of Sweden during the Nobel Foundation Prize 2008 Awards Ceremony at the Concert Hall on December 10, 2008 in Stockholm.

King Harald, Queen Sonja, Crown Princess Mette-Marit and Crown Prince Haakon during the Nobel Peace Prize Awards Ceremony at the Oslo City Hall on December 10, 2008.

No comments: